Democratic Security Sector Governance

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs is the channel through which the Dutch Government communicates with foreign governments and international organisations. The Ministry coordinates and carries out Dutch foreign policy. The Ministry has two halves: its headquarters in The Hague and its missions abroad (embassies, consulates, and permanent representations).

The Ministry is headed by the Minister of Foreign Affairs, who is responsible for Dutch foreign policy as well as policy regarding the Netherlands’ cooperation with Europe. The Minister is accountable to the Parliament.

The Minister for Trade and Development Cooperation is responsible for policy on trade, development cooperation and foreign aid. The Ministry’s most senior civil servant is the Secretary-General.

Based on the policy programme of the first Rutte Government, the government sees its mission as being to promote the security and well-being of the Netherlands and the Dutch people, and to that end it will focus on international stability and security, energy and raw material security, the international legal order (including human rights) and the commercial and economic interests of the Netherlands and Dutch businesses. These policies were set down in the coalition agreement of October 2010.

A greater emphasis will also be placed on economic diplomacy. In addition, development cooperation, the international legal order and active involvement in European and transatlantic partnerships will remain cornerstones of Dutch foreign policy. These principles have been translated into an integrated policy with three pillars: security, prosperity and freedom.

The Ministry’s activities are based on the above objectives. They are:

  • to maintain relations with other countries and international organisations;
  • to promote cooperation with other countries;
  • to help developing countries accelerate their social and economic development through international cooperation;
  • to promote the interests of Dutch nationals and the Netherlands abroad;
  • to collect information on other countries and international developments for the Government and other interested parties;
  • to provide information on Dutch policy and the Netherlands’ position on international issues and developments;
  • to present the Netherlands to the world;
  • to deal with applications from and the problems of foreigners living in the Netherlands or seeking to enter or leave the country.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs has its headquarters in The Hague and a network of missions around the world.

Photo credit: Ivan Bandura (Flickr)

© Copyright 2023, All Rights Reserved

Web Development by Activate Media